Wild flowers spotting in London

Another sunny and breezy day in London. I went for a quick look around in my favourite woodlands once my boyfriend was having a haircut. I entered through the All Saints church gate to walk through the cemetery and what was my joy to discover lilies of the valley growing in the shady spot. I must have missed them before as I walked there many times. They have got their flower buds still closed but looking very promising. Sadly, didn’t get a good shot with my phone.

Here are today’s discoveries.

Wild strawberry
Wild strawberry
Lily of the valley
Lily of the valley
Wild garlic
Wild garlic
Lords and ladies
Lords and ladies or cuckoo pint
Greater celandine
Greater celandine
Primula
Primrose
Cow parsley or Queen Anne's lace
Cow parsley
White honesty flower
White honesty flower
Garlic mustard
Garlic mustard
Cleavers aka sticky willy
Cleavers aka sticky willy
White narcissus
White narcissus
White fritilaria
White fritillaria
Lesser calendine
Lesser celandine
Red campion
Red campion
Very pretty, couldn't identify
Spring starflower
Tortoiseshell in the nettles
Tortoiseshell in the nettles

I have contacted Keith Jone after looking at his website www.seasonalwildflowers.com and he helped me to identify the spring starflower. His website is filled with all the info and beautiful photos of wildflowers month by month. Please, have a look at it if you like wildflowers and want to know more.

I just ordered some books about identifying wild flowers and can’t wait to start reading and taking them with me on my park walks.

2 thoughts on “Wild flowers spotting in London

Leave a Reply

