Summer heatwave with the June blooms and Full Moon

June is quickly drawing to an end and London is experiencing a heatwave predicting 35 degrees Celsius for tomorrow. Could be the hottest day of the year! We enjoy a bit of breeze though and some thundery showers are expected later during the week.

Personally, I always liked summertime and the heat. My mum, who like my brother dislikes the hot weather, says me and my sister got it after my father who at 74 still enjoys sitting in the full sunshine. I remember lots of sunbathing during my teenager times. Nowadays, I mostly love summer evenings filled with scents, warmth and colours but no mosquitos please!

Wood sorrel
Wood sorrel
Tuberous pea
Tuberous pea
IMG_4928
Californian poppy
Nigella damascena aka love-in-the mist
Nigella damascena aka love-in-the mist
And its dramatic capsule
And its dramatic capsule
Marigold
Marigold
White campion
White campion
Musk mallow
Musk mallow
Meadow cranesbill
Meadow cranesbill
Corn marigold
Corn marigold
Prunella or self-heal
Prunella or self-heal
Tufted vetch
Tufted vetch
Wild chamomile
Wild chamomile 
IMG_5136
Opium poppy
IMG_5158
Full Moon
8 thoughts on “Summer heatwave with the June blooms and Full Moon

    1. Something I takes me long hours as well searching internet and books to find that one name. I won’t rest until I get it and hopefully it’s the right one!

  1. Stunning photos, all of them. I have to chortle at the heat wave–being from Texas, it’s all about the warm this time of year. My son has been studying abroad in the UK and will return next week for a few days. No matter how warm it is there, he’ll have a tough time with our heat. No matter, he now lives in Oregon which it a bit cooler than Central Texas. My advice to you? Drink lots of water, wear light clothing and sunblock–and remember the sunshine in January.

    1. Thank you for reading Tina. Today is very humid as well so rain is probably on its way. I hope your son will have a good journey home. Exciting! Going to get some drink now…

Leave a Reply

